Three O’Clock in the Morning by Gianrico Carofiglio

A fascinating novel, expertly written with an extraordinary premise, and a narrator you’d follow anywhere!

Image of Three O'Clock in the Morning: A Novel

“Gianrico Carofiglio’s Three O’Clock in the Morning is profound in its simple delivery.”

A compelling, compact story whose focus transpires in forty-eight hours, Gianrico Carofiglio’s Three O’ Clock in the Morning explores a father and son relationship as the pair explore the coastal town of Marseilles. Seventeen-year-old Antonio is the only son of divorced, Italian parents. In high school and living with his mother, his rapport with his 51-year-old father is distant and strained until fate inexplicably intervenes in a manner that throws father and son together.

My Full Review is in the New York Journal of Books a book review by Claire Fullerton: Three O’Clock in the Morning: A Novel (

Image result for gianrico carofiglio

Award-winning, best-selling novelist Gianrico Carofiglio was born in Bari in 1961 and worked for many years as a prosecutor specializing in organized crime. He was appointed advisor of the anti-Mafia committee in the Italian parliament in 2007 and served as a senator from 2008 to 2013.  Carofiglio is best known for the Guido Guerrieri crime series: Involuntary Witness, A Walk in the Dark, Reasonable Doubts, Temporary Perfections and now, A Fine Line, all published by Bitter Lemon Press. His other novels include The Silence of the Wave. Carofiglio’s books have sold more than four million copies in Italy and have been translated into twenty-four languages worldwide.

Other Books by the acclaimed Gianrico Carofiglio!


Publication Order of Guido Guerrieri Books

Involuntary Witness(2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Walk in the Dark(2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Reasonable Doubts(2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Temporary Perfections(2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Fine Line(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Measure of Time(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Pietro Fenoglio Books

The Cold Summer(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Past is a Foreign Country(2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Silence of the Wave(2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Three O’Clock in the Morning(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gianrico Carofiglio at the Byron writers festival this month.

More on the author!

Since 2002 Gianrico Carofiglio has been writing crime novels, at first in his spare time, starring a recurring main character, a widely-read, jazz-loving philosophical prosecutor who thinks deeply about good and evil (he has retired this character now). In total he has sold more than 4m copies. He had wanted to write since he was a child, but didn’t until he was in his 40s: “I was so scared of trying I thought I had better really try and understand this problem.” It took nine months to write Involuntary Witness; he had already lived the material. “And then I had my answer, it sold over a million copies all over the world.”

2 thoughts on “Three O’Clock in the Morning by Gianrico Carofiglio

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s